Erie County Department of Voter Registration Announces Major Party Candidates

Saturday, March 12th, 2011 at 8:50 PM
Erie County Department of Voter Registration Announces Major Party Candidates by Cory Vaillancourt

The Erie County Department of Voter Registration today posted a document on its website listing the major party candidates whose names will appear on the primary election ballot; the last day for candidates interested in running for city, county, township and boro offices to file was March 8. While no more major party candidates can be included on the ballot after this date, candidates can, and sometimes do, withdraw from a race, so check in with us often for up-to-date listings.


As of 5 p.m., the following major party candidates had qualified to run for the following offices in their respective municipalities:


Erie County Council

1st District –     (D) Phil Fatica (incumbent)

                               (R) Rebecca Styn

                               (R) Gil Rocco


3rd  District –   (D) Fiore Leone (incumbent)

                                (D) Darlene Kenny


5th District –    (D) Kyle Foust (incumbent)

                                (R) Randy Brewer


7th District –    (R) Carol J. Loll (incumbent)

                                (R) Patrick J. Gehrlein

                                (R) Clayton Schulze

                                (R) Dan Galena


Erie County Controller

(D) Casimir J. “Kaz” Kwitowski

(R) George W. Riedesel

(R) Mary E. Schaaf


Erie County Coroner

(R) Lyell Cook (incumbent)


Erie County District Attorney

(R) John H. Daneri (incumbent)


Erie City Treasurer

(D) Susan E. DiVecchio (incumbent)


Erie City Council (vote for no more than three)

(D) Jessica Horan-Kunco (incumbent)

(D) Patrick S. Cappabianca (incumbent)

(D) Mark Aleks Aleksandrowicz (incumbent)

(D) David Brennan

(D) Bob Merski

(D) Julia Calipo

(D) Melvin Witherspoon


Erie City Council (vote for one) - This seat is a two-year term to fill the late Jim Thompson’s seat.

(D) Joel “Jody” Schwartz (incumbent)

(D) Richard E. Wagner

(D) Bob Merski

(D) Melvin Witherspoon


District Judge – 3rd ward

(D) Joseph R. LeFaiver (incumbent) – also filed as Republican

(D) Michael D. Keys


District Judge – 5th ward

(D) Dominick D. Dipaolo (incumbent) – also filed as Republican

(D) John D. Little


Erie School Directors-at-Large (vote for no more than five)

(D) Jeanine McCreary (incumbent) – also filed as Republican

(D) John C. Harkins (incumbent)

(D) Bob Casillo (incumbent) – also filed as Republican

(D) Linda Aleksandrowicz – also filed as Republican

(D) John A. Voli – also filed as Republican

(D) Gary Kanonczyk – also filed as Republican

(D) Frank Petungar, Jr. – also filed as Republican

(D) Robbie Fabrizi – also filed as Republican

(D) Debra Johnson

(D) Thomas A. Spagel – also filed as Republican


Candidates filed paperwork to run for offices in a multitude of other municipal election districts, as well as in the Magisterial District races; consult the Erie County 2011 Municipal Primary Candidate List for more information. These municipal races will take place in the following jurisdictions:




School Districts

Corry Area, Fairview , Fort LeBoeuf , General McLane, Girard , Harbor Creek, Iroquois, Millcreek, North , East, Northwestern, Union City Area, Wattsburg Area.



Albion , Cranesville , Edin , Elgin , Girard , Lake City , McKean , Mill Villiage , North East , Platea , Union City, Waterford , Wattsburg , Wesleyville .



Amity , Concord , Conneaut , Elk Creek , Fairview , Franklin , Girard , Greene , Greenfield , Harborcreek , Lawrence Park , LeBoeuf , McKean , Millcreek , North East , Springfield , Summit , Union , Venango , Washington , Waterford , and Wayne.

























Erie Reader: Vol. 7, No. 11
Now Available — Pick It Up Today


Your guide to the 2017 festival scene

Analysis, commentary on Erie’s latest elections

Frank advice from a former mayor to a future one


Erie team ends its championship drought


Scenic speed bumps and ski mask surprise