Every Time I Die // From Parts Unknown

Categories:  Music Reviews    Music
Wednesday, July 23rd, 2014 at 9:20 AM
Every Time I Die // From Parts Unknown by Jess Scutella

Every Time I Die

From Parts Unknown

Epitaph Records

4 Stars

The Buffalo metalcore band Every Time I Die have released their seventh album in their nearly two decades of existence. From Parts Unknown is a great expression of their nearly flawless hardcore, lyrically diverse, and pulsating formula, hitting hard in the first 30 seconds with “The Great Secret” blasting away at a breakneck tempo. From there, lead vocalist Keith Buckley screams through his life from the last three years. Each song has distinctive guitar riffs, as per usual for ETID, but some standout tracks are “Exometrium” and “Decayin’ With The Boys.” Some experimental tracks include “Moor” and “El Dorado,” where the band balances indie-rock and southern rock ‘n’ roll into the album’s list. Overall, any ETID fan will be extremely pleased with the July 1 release, and new listeners will get a good idea of how this cornerstone hardcore band produces great music. – Jess Scutella

Erie Reader: Vol. 7, No. 11
Now Available — Pick It Up Today


Your guide to the 2017 festival scene

Analysis, commentary on Erie’s latest elections

Frank advice from a former mayor to a future one


Erie team ends its championship drought


Scenic speed bumps and ski mask surprise