A.V. Undercover Returns for Sixth Season

Categories:  Arts & Culture/Entertainment    Music
Tuesday, May 19th, 2015 at 6:24 PM
A.V. Undercover Returns for Sixth Season by Alex Bieler
Photo via A.V. Club

Get ready for a summer of cover songs, because The A.V. Club's A.V. Undercover is back for a sixth season.

I'm not quite sure how I missed the start of the series back on May 12, but I'm not going to complain now that it's here. I've been a big fan of A.V. Undercover, going as far as ranking all of the performances from the last season. Now we have a brand new set of 30 songs, with everything from Beastie Boys to Enya making the list.

The A.V. Club recruited Punch Brothers to open up the new season. The extremely talented string band chose The Strokes' "Reptilia" from the list, which seems a bit cheap given that the band has been covering that song for years, but I'll let it slide since its such a killer version. Want even more bluegrassy goodness? Check out the second episode in the series, which features banjo maestros Bela Fleck and Abigail Washburn taking on Europe's "The Final Countdown." So far, it's looking like this season won't disappoint.

Check out the whole song list for A.V. Undercover Season Six and the videos for Punch Brother's season opener below. Based off of a certain concert I reviewed recently, I have a pretty good guess for who is going to cover Destiny's Child.

The Cardigans, “Lovefool”

Blind Melon, “No Rain”

Beastie Boys, “Sabotage”

The Strokes, “Reptilia”

Crowded House, “Don’t Dream It’s Over”

Cyndi Lauper, “She Bop”

Oasis, “Rock N Roll Star”

The Runaways, “Cherry Bomb”

Howard Jones, “Things Can Only Get Better”

Phil Collins, “In The Air Tonight”

Destiny’s Child, “Bills, Bills, Bills”

The Velvet Underground, “She’s My Best Friend”

Europe, “The Final Countdown”

Gillian Welch, “Everything Is Free”

James, “Laid”

Styx, “Renegade”

Patsy Cline, “Walkin’ After Midnight”

Paul McCartney and Michael Jackson, “Say Say Say”

The Fixx, “One Thing Leads To Another”

Peter Gabriel, “Shock The Monkey”

Slayer, “Raining Blood”

GWAR, any song

Mighty Mighty Bosstones, “The Impression That I Get”

Electric Light Orchestra, “Don’t Bring Me Down”

Stealers Wheel, “Stuck In The Middle With You”

Taylor Swift, “Shake It Off”

The Crystals, “He’s A Rebel”

Joy Division, “Transmission”

Toadies, “Possum Kingdom”

Enya, “Orinoco Flow”

Erie Reader: Vol. 7, No. 10
Now Available — Pick It Up Today


The strength of the Mountain Goats will always rest solely on the shoulders of John Darnielle. His brilliant lyricism and idiosyncratic vocal delivery tells a story like no other living person can. 

The day after Erie’s mayoral primary election

14-year-old Alton Northup's thinking is progressive and something worth listening to. 

Who will win, and who should win, as mayoral momentum mounts

Leader - ship


Who will win, and who should win, as mayoral momentum mounts

Leader - ship

The Downtown Edinboro Art & Music Festival provides music and art for the community.

Basement Transmissions comes to the rescue amidst library renovations.

The cohesiveness of Jensen & Three Sharks is on full display on this debut album. 

Edinboro’s Happy Mug Coffee stirs up warm feelings.

Freedom to be screwed

Signals Midwest grace the stage of Basement Transmissions again, but at its new location. 

Can you visit more than 15 Erie art locations in three hours during Erie Art Museum’s next Gallery Night?

Country music superstar and all-around national treasure Willie Nelson continues to make great music